The Perfect Poppy

Image

I have seen the most beautiful photographs of poppies, and up until now, I didn’t have any.  Back in April, at the end of my Southwest trip of 3000 miles in 10 days, I drove all the way from Death Valley to the Antelope Poppy preserve outside of Los Angeles, with every intention of finally capturing my perfect poppy shot.  Well…after driving through gale force winds, watching the hood of the Jeep jump up and down for miles and miles, seemingly about to come loose and fly up in my face, I made it.  Along with hundreds of other people.  The winds were still blowing, there was smog on the horizon, and my vision of the perfect shot went up in…uh… the smog.  

So fast forward to my trip to Napa with my Yoga teacher a few weeks later.  The morning everyone got up and had a massage, I drove about 30 miles south to a state park in Napa, walked up a lovely hill filled with oak trees and blankets of wildflowers and found a small patch of poppies on the side of the hill.  I spend an hour composing, shooting, waiting for the breeze to die down, and finally got what I wanted.  

Success !!!

Author: Dotty Molt

A Photographer, Explorer, and Gatherer of Light and Color. Based above Lake Tahoe, Nevada in the beautiful Sierra Nevada Mountains, I am traveling across the country with a camera, gathering stories, memories and beautiful images.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Poppy”

Leave a Reply

